Category Archives: Event Bulletins

Wimbledon Common Night Race – Results

Here are the results for the Wimbledon Common night race which was held on Tuesday 22 March.

Rank	Name	Club	Class	Time
1	Andrew Brown	SLOW	M21	37:40
2	Paul Couldridge	SLOW	M35	38:35
3	E. Grabauskas	Karsuva	M20	42:44
4	Paul Todd	LOK	M35	44:16
5	Don Mckerrow	SLOW	M55	44:21
6	Becky Kingdon	SLOW	W21	44:55
7	Tessa Hill	HOC	W21	46:37
8	A Janulynas	SLOW	M21	48:30
9	Andy Robinson	SLOW	M55	48:32
10	Duncan Leeson	HOC	M20	50:30
11	Mike Garvin	SLOW	M40	54:57
12	Tom Murphy	BAO	M40	57:03
13	Alan Hickling	Saxons	M45	58:31
14	Gavin Andrews	SLOW	M45	62:32
15	Mike Elliot	MV	M55	65:22
16	Angus Lund	SLOW	M35	71:15
17	B. & R. Lovett	SLOW	M35/W21	73:46
18	Yehuda Alon	SLOW	M55	74:05
19	Ian Bullock	LOK	M35	79:40
20	E. O'Callaghan	SLOW	M21	82:57
21	Jon Moore	MV	M60	85:54
22	Adam Dent	SLOW	M21	91:26
23	F. Bertram	HPXCS	W21	128:47
	C. Eldred & M.	Sheen		Retired
	Brent Davis	Sheen		Retired
	Dave Wright	SLOW	M55	Retired

Rank	Name	Club	Class	Time
1	Dave Ryder	SN	M50	35:23
2	Dawn Figg	HH	W40	39:37
3	Bryony Brennan	CHIG	W21	50:03
4	Katie Mcinnes	SLOW	W21	62:39
5	J. Barrett & A.	IND	M21	66:01
6	Fran Kenden	SLOW	W55	86:11

Rank	Name	Club	Class	Time
1	Danny Figg	HH	M14	54:26

Wimbledon Common Night Race

Night Race

Tuesday 22 March

organised by South London Orienteers

Cross-country night orienteering on Wimbledon Common and Putney Heath.


LocationWimbledon Common and Putney Heath
AddressThe Telegraph, Telegraph Road, Putney
Latitude/longitude51.4488, -0.2266
OS grid referenceTQ233737
MapsGoogle Maps, OpenStreetMap


  • Putney station (South West Trains) – 1.6km
  • East Putney or Southfields stations (District Line) – both 2km
  • Buses stop at Putney Heath or Tibbet’s Ride for routes to/from Putney, Wandsworth, Clapham Junction, Southfields, Wimbledon, Richmond and Kingston.

Race Format

Cross-country orienteering on pre-printed maps – short, medium and long courses are available. The event takes place at night, so some form of torch is needed. Competitors can take part individually or in pairs. SI electronic punching will be used and cards are available to hire.


RegistrationBetween 1830 and 2000
Start TimesBetween 1830 and 2000

Courses close at 21:30.


  • Short – 2.9km
  • Medium – 3.8km
  • Long – 5.7km


Pub, serves food – see

Entry Fee

£1/£2 + £1 SI card hire (TBC)
Entry on the day only.


Organiser: Ed Stott –


Results will be available on the SLOW website after the event.

South East Inter-Club Score Championships

Richmond Park

Sunday 13 February

organised by South London Orienteers

Each club’s 12 top scoring runners (from different age/gender groups) count towards the club’s total.

NEW! Final details


LocationRichmond Park
AddressThames Hare & Hounds Clubhouse, Richardson Evans Memorial Playing Fields, Roehampton Vale
Latitude/longitude51.4358, -0.2534
OS grid referenceTQ215722
MapsGoogle Maps, OpenStreetMap

Directions to Registration

Approach from A3 southbound just before Robin Hood roundabout/gate. No. 85 bus linking Putney/Kingston stops close by.

Entry Fee

Seniors £5.00 (+£2.00 for non-BOF members.)
Juniors £2.00.
Entry on the day only.


RegistrationFrom 0900 onwards
Start TimesBetween 1000 and 1200

Race Format

Score event – visit as many controls as you can within:

  • 60 mins for W/M18-55
  • 40 mins for W/M16- and W/M60+ (scores will be multiplied by 1.5 for the team competition)

+ yellow and white colour coded courses.
+ Naughty Numbers for the young at heart.


Planner: Vince Roper
Controller: Andy Robinson
Organiser: Dorte Torpe Hansen – email or telephone 07785 720 283.

Prize Giving

Prize giving 13.30 or sooner if possible.


Results will be available on the SLOW website after the event.

Box Hill Fell Race – Results and New Course Record

Box Hill Record Breaker James McMullen

The results from the 2011 Box Hill Fell Race are here.

Congratulations to overall winner James McMullen of Thames Hare & Hounds and ladies’ winner Sarah Rollins of British Army Orienteering Club. James set a new course record of 46:55, beating Chris Beecham’s time of 47:17 in 1997. James McMullen was last year’s winner too, but improved his time by over five minutes. Sarah Rollins was also the ladies’ winner in the 2009 race.

Honour roll of historical winners.

Pre-event details.

Top photos by Chris Robinson. Bottom photo by Ed Catmur.

Results for OK Nuts Trophy Available

Trophy Winners

  • OK Nuts Trophy: Ralph Street
  • Heather Monro Trophy: Johanna Olsson
  • Margaret Loveless Trophy: Peter Bray*

Congratulations this year’s trophy winners, who were all U21s!



Well done to everyone who braved the snowy weather and got around the courses. If you enjoyed Longmoor, BAOC are running another event there on Wednesday 29 December – the Military Challenge. MTBO (12km-40km) and Foot-O (3.5km-18km) courses are available. Advance entry is available. For more details, see here.

Top: The start of the Full Blood Race. Above: Competitors on the Half Blood Race. Photographs by Chris Robinson